kinstill.blogg.se

Stimulated tyga album cover
Stimulated tyga album cover











stimulated tyga album cover stimulated tyga album cover

Pure anti-culture.ĬLYDE: Since when did Tyga start biting Drake?Įspecially considering he once called the 6 God corny.Įvery now and then he says some clever shit, tho.ĭid they change this beat enough to not get sued?Įvery time I listen, I feel like this is the pre-song to the actual song that a real artist would release.ĭo you ever think he should just retire already? To a country without age requirements? You can date children or get respect as a human being, and Tyga has made his racecar-shaped bed. I hate the fact that once a year I gotta acknowledge this guy as a real person.Īgain, I don’t make the damn rules, but I’m pretty sure you have to make a choice. LEAH: Just as boring as “Controlla”, with half the talent. (The charts don’t lie!) But at least Tyga’s father is Jamaican? Word has it that he’s already filmed a video in Kingston for “1 of 1”. This week, he returns to our attention with “1 of 1”, a song that sounds awfully similar to a few dancehall-tinged tracks from rap game Miss Cleo, Drake. When last we checked in with Tyga, he was dropping some next-level skeeze with an ode to barely legal girlfriends called “Stimulated”.

stimulated tyga album cover

The only way I will give dude a second chance is if he goes on a grimy club tour with Shabazz Palaces and Busdriver and sleeps in the van or something. It goes downhill with the first hook for me. This is not terrible or anything but it is indeed derivative. I mean, it’s built on a foundation of two things I love: hip-hop and arcane politics. I’ve tried to get my head around the whole “Hamilton” phenom but I just can’t. I don’t make the rules but I’m pretty sure Broadway is the exact opposite of hip-hop. The juke/footwork/edm crowd will not give a shit about this track. I don’t think that people listening to Death Grips or Danny Brown will even raise an eyebrow. This song is obviously not for musical theater fans. The zine style album art and Sub Pop cred would normally reel me in, I’m just not sure who this song is for given the space that Diggs currently occupies. It sounds like a PG-13 dude who has a Grammy, a Tony, and the President’s phone number in his pocket tryna do fringe-rap. The production is nice, ambitious even, but this basically sounds exactly like what it is: fake weird. Rapping with swagger and for popular or general consumption, which this is not an example of, is rather difficult.ĪARON: WHO AMONG YE WOULD RATHER HEAR HOMEBOY SANDMAN ON THIS TRACK? This is also what happens when everyone realizes that rapping, as in the art of saying words in rhyming couplets, is relatively simple. This is derivative of everything that everyone who likes derivative things loves. Putting a bondage drawing on your cover doesn’t distract from that. Hell, I just need some texture.Īs it is now, this sounds like someone playing punk dress-up. It’s an oddly lifeless performance, isn’t it? I mean, he’s obviously rapping quite quickly and proficiently, and that’s something, but where’s the anger or sleaze or sinisterness this production calls for? I don’t need to be shouted out like Grips, but I need some attitude. All of it.ĭiggs, on the other hand, does nothing for me. PHIL: I’m all in on the production: flipping the Whitehouse sample, the breakneck shifts the footwork rhythms the contrast of grimy and polished sonics.

stimulated tyga album cover

Is this more for the Death Grips/ Yeezus crowd? Either way, this song just isn’t my cup of lean. I noticed one of the tags for this song was “harsh noise rap”. LEAH: He’s got some speed chops, and I started off liking this track, but the more it goes on, the more the chorus applies: “Showoff.” At some point, probably around 2:37, the track becomes an exercise in frenetic flow and honestly I end up finding it pretty annoying.ĬLYDE: Leah, I completely disagree! This doesn’t go off the rails until at least the 2:41 mark. Not long after the win, Sub Pop released the latest EP from clipping., Wriggle. with producers William Huston and Jonathan Snipes. What most voters probably didn’t know is that Diggs is also part of L.A. Our distinguished panel consists of Marcus Dowling, Phil R, Clyde McGrady, Hip Hop Hooray’s Leah Manners, Jose Lopez-Sanchez, and Aaron Miller of Austin Mic Exchange.Īlmost two weeks ago, rapper Daveed Diggs won a Tony for his roles as Marquis de Lafayette and Thomas Jefferson in Hamilton. wriggle like an eel Tyga takes a flight on Air Jamaica and Jeezy makes a trip to Magic City Mondays with Future and 2 Chainz. Each week, we discuss recent hip-hop tracks. Allow us to reintroduce ourselves: Our name is Rec-Room Therapy.













Stimulated tyga album cover